fonts of the cta: research.

CTA_Font-Research

I went out a little before the holidays got into full swing and hit up all of the underground CTA train stations in the city for my research of the typeface that used to adorn the lovely walls of our subway system. Up above is a quick sample shot of photos that I took during my quest. I think I ended up finding images of all but 5 letters, 1 of which I already had and 2 more I found while looking at a CTA auction site. Z, X and Q are nowhere to be seen in this subway, at least not down below by the trains. For my second phase I am going to go observe the upper levels of these stations and hopefully I will find some of those letters hidden among the signs and people. It’s highly unlikely because of the rareness of those letters but it’s always wise to be thorough.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “fonts of the cta: research.”

  1. Latest work: CTA | Black Curse Creative Says:

    […] set out to photograph all the examples of it that I could find and then create the thing myself (see here). So I went to all the stations that would have it, I took all the photos I could and then what? I […]

Leave a Reply

