weirdos and airplanes.

The Chicago Air and Water Show was this past weekend. We didn’t make it there on Saturday because I was stuck on a bus coming back from Toledo but we definitely made it a point to go on Sunday. Hit the jump to read more and see some photos from the day.

First of all, it was hot as shit on Sunday. Well, maybe not really hot (around 80 degrees) but it was sunny beyond belief. Great for watching planes, not great for my face or kneecaps. Sunburnt. Red. Itchy. Painful. Oh well, worth it. It was so nice to go out and do something with Nancy. Something cheap (free other than transportation and food) and simple. I liked it. I had a good time out with her.

We started by hopping on the train to the beach. Nice ride, not too packed. Once we finally reached the waterfront we found a spot along the cement walkway and planted ourselves. It was a good view and we didn’t have to stand the whole time. It also gave a really good line of sight to all the weirdo people walking up and down the beach. Below are just a few of the photos I took of everything. By the way, I had to manually focus EVERYTHING. I had never had to do that before for a whole day but it was definitely good experience. The newer zoom lens I got focuses really smoothly. I had a lot of fun attempting to get good photos that way. I probably wouldn’t have been able to do it without that option.

 

 

After we sat there for a couple hours and got sunburnt we decided to take a walk amongst the buildings in the shade. That was really nice and necessary. I do believe as we were walking that a lady heard me say something about her cigarette. Oh well. Hit it or flick it, woman. I don’t need to smell that shit.

After walking for a while we found some random place that sold us a cheeseburger and fries for $4. Pretty tasty stuff actually. The guy behind the counter sounded like Borat when he is making fun of his wife’s voice. Classic cartoon foreign-dude kind of voice. Anyway, we ate and headed back to see the jets.

 

 

I’ll admit it, the air show was pretty fun. It makes you feel like a kid when you’re there or even when you can just hear the jets screaming around the city. Everyone gets all antsy and you want to know where it is. It’s exciting. Nancy and I went to the Cleveland Air Show last year and that was fun stuff too. I’d say they were both pretty fun things to go check out. Overall, I can’t wait for next year and more weirdos and airplanes.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “weirdos and airplanes.”

  1. David Wilson Says:

    These are some nice ass photos. You should send them to some Chicago newspaper or local magazine see if you can get some more journalistic type jobs.

    DW

Leave a Reply

