feelin’ like a luddite.

There’s a new kid in photography town and I’m not quite sure what to think of him. Simply put, the Lytro camera allows you to focus your photo after you take it. My initial thoughts was that it was more like it is taking some of the thought and careful calculation out of photography. From what I understand it takes a photo and saves all the possible information (undoubtedly creating a very large file in the process) and afterwards you can select what you want to focus on. I’m sure this involves some crazy mathematical processes to mimic aperture and shutter speeds and all kinds of settings in a very cool and unique way. I’m just not sure how I feel about it. Yes, it’s a great new product and it seems like a revelation in how we could be taking photos but couldn’t it also eliminate some of the professionalism of learning your craft and practicing and studying how to take a good photo? Either way I want to play with one of the cameras and see how it will work before I judge it completely. I think it’s going to be a cool step for photography (and even more potentially for videography) but I also know I, personally, enjoy the difficulties of taking a decent photo out in the wild.

Anyway, if you are interested in learning more about this and even playing with some photos to see what it’s all about then check out the links below.

Lytro website
Yahoo! News story about the Lytro camera 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

