linoleum cuts: the beginning.

I’m not really known as a big illustration person. I don’t ever draw (unless it’s sketching for design work) and I really don’t try a lot of other new illustration techniques. Little grey linoleum pieces have somewhat changed me. I recently had the idea of buying some linoleum pieces to use with the Superior Cub press. I wanted to have some images along with my type stuff but I soon learned it wasn’t going to work the way I wanted.

I wanted to be able to adhere the lino-pieces to the printing wheel but the first time I tried it started cracking. I gave up quick. Had to rethink the situation real fast. In the end I lay them down and run the paper over it similar to the big printing presses back at KSU.

The first couple linoleum pieces I cut into were all freehand. I still didn’t have a computer to design anything so instead I just played around and got the feel of the stuff. My first piece was a big round exclamation mark, followed by FUCK YEAH, then I worked on that sweet rocket and BLAST OFF stuff. Cool beans if ya ask me.

In order to print these things I have a huge piece of glass that I lay down and set up the assembly line. I first lay out my inks, paper and my illi and then get to work. I roll the ink out on the glass and then smother the stamp with it. Then I lay down the paper and roll over it a few times and we get a nice little print. Wash, rinse, repeat. Y’all know how it is.

Anyway, that’s a quick look at my new boredom-killer. It’s kind of nice to try a new way at working on things. Plus I always enjoy that dirty look. It makes for some bitchin’ stuff in the end. I’m still not quite sure what kind of ink to use and I am not sure how far I can take this but it will be fun to find out.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

