painting with pixels: rusty.

If you know me and my photography work then you’ve most likely seen this car before. It’s probably one of my favorite photos ever. I don’t know why either. Maybe it’s the fact that a once mighty Mercedes-Benz is now a rusted scrap-heap just waiting to be demolished. Maybe it’s because it was one of the photos I took during my early photography days. Whatever the case is, I like it.

Never being the first to jump at an illustration opportunity has always been my game, at least when I was in school it was. Now that I’ve been out and away from that setting I’ve rediscovered the fun of painting, drawing, and just general illustration stuff. Most of my friends are illustrators or designers and so I’m constantly around it and inspired by it. I figured it was time for me to take a good crack at a new medium for myself.

Well over 10 hours and 12 layers of work I have arrived at this.

It was a lot of work but I’m really surprised and happy with the way it has turned out. I never thought I’d be able to sit and “paint” something like this. Here is the original photo for reference.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

