album art, mastodon.

It’s been a while now since I posted some stuff that inspires me. Lately I’ve been listening to Mastodon for both musical and design inspiration. Their album artwork always has some really well-done illustration and it always incorporates little, subtle design work into it. The title of the album and their name has little elements that relate to the music added to it that makes each album unique.

To be honest, I didn’t always like this band. Blood Mountain was my first experience with them and it was never one of my favorite albums to really listen to, although it has one of my favorite album covers of all-time. It had some good songs on it but Crack The Skye, their newest recording has really raised the bar for them in my mind. It has made me go back and check out their back catalog in a new way and give it a fresh listen with an open mind.

To learn more, click here: http://www.mastodonrocks.com/ or http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mastodon_(band)

Hit the jump for the covers.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “album art, mastodon.”

  1. davidjwilson Says:

    Paul Romano is the shit. Check out the album artwork for the Red Chord album “Clients” it’s scummier but just as sweet as remission or leviathan son. I’ll give you a call later today by the way.

    DW

Leave a Reply

