Blanken Sans: Bold and other fonts.

Well, I worked pretty hard and finally finished the new font. I will host it here for anyone who wants it and will also host the other fonts I’ve created. I will also give a rundown of each font, so you know the story of it and all that good stuff. In each of these images the spacing between the letters may seem to be a lot but it is only that way because I spread them out for the image. The spacing is correct within the font file. The characters shown in the images are the characters available within the font and the font will only contain one thickness. Enjoy.

The first font I created was Tria Handwritten. I had just begun learning about making typefaces so I figured the best way was to create a simple, handwritten font. I wanted to just learn the basics of setting up the letters in the program, the spacing and the character sizes. This is basically just the first attempt out of many that would yield some OK results.

Tria Handwritten

Tria Handwritten

The second font I created is called Stickly. This is basically me having the idea to take a stick from a tree, dip it in ink and write the alphabet on some paper. I wasn’t going for anything specific but as I neared completion I noticed it was similar to those “spooky” types of fonts but also similar to the typeface used for Korn’s main logo and lettering. Cool effect but not necessarily what I intended.

Stickly

Stickly

The next font I set out to create (in the same week as the previous font) was Crayon Sans. I noticed that a lot of fonts that imitated crayons were either very childish or just not very good. Well, upon working with this typeface I learned why. Crayons are just hard to imitate. I believe I did a good job and when playing with it some in Photoshop you can achieve a pretty decent crayon-like effect.

Crayon Sans

Crayon Sans

The first font I created that was actually based off of a known font is Futura Line. I was in Chicago on Spring Break for ’08 and there was a window around the Ogilvie Transportation Center and it had some decaying type on it. I took a picture quickly and forgot about it. Over time it became my desktop background and then I just loved the font so much I decided to attempt to create the font. I only wanted to do the capital letters and so, sadly, this is all that’s available. It took me a LONG time but I feel it was worth it. It’s a fun, little display typeface based on the Futura font.

Futura Line

Futura Line

My final, and most recent, font is Blanken Sans: Bold. I really wanted something mathematical in its spacing and shapes. The font is actually based off of Boris Black Box. This is a very thick and box-like font and I decided to slim it down some and add a few touches of my own. This, right now, is the hardest font I’ve created and is the one I am most proud of. It comes only in Bold format. It is semi-extended and would be good for display lettering but also for standard typing. The spacing is all based on Helvetica’s Bold style. The capital “I” looks a little thin in this image but it is correct in the font file.

Blanken Sans: Bold

Blanken Sans: Bold

If you have some comments or suggestions on how to make them better then drop me a line. It would be much appreciated. Download them, use them. I don’t care. Get them out and circulated.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

